Three incumbent state senators won re-election Nov. 6 by relatively close margins in key Buckhead and Sandy Springs races, according to unofficial results from the Georgia Secretary of State’s office.

In District 6 (Buckhead/Sandy Springs), Democratic incumbent Jen Jordan beat Republican Leah Aldridge with 57.97 percent of the vote. It was a partial rematch of last year’s special election, where Jordan’s win switch the seat from a longtime Republican base to Democratic, and Aldridge was among five Republicans who were winnowed out before a runoff.

In District 32 (Sandy Springs), Republican incumbent Kay Kirkpatrick beat Democrat Christine Triebsch in a rematch of last year’s special election. Kirkpatrick won 58.6 percent of the vote.

In District 56, representing part of northern Sandy Springs, Republican incumbent John Albers fended off a challenge from Democrat Ellyn Jeager with 52.55 percent of the vote.

John Ruch is an Atlanta-based journalist. Previously, he was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.