By John Schaffner

New Dist. 8 Atlanta City Councilwoman Yolanda Adrean said she had requested a slot on the Finance/Executive Committee, but didn’t expect to get it because fellow Buckhead Councilman Howard Shook likely would remain chair of the committee.
Adrean not only got her appointment to the powerful committee, she was named chairperson, much to the surprise of many at City Hall. Adrean will take over for Shook, a two-term veteran who remains on the Finance/Executive panel.
Adrean’s appointment, along with other council committee appointments, were announced Jan. 4 by council President Ceasar Mitchell. In the past the appointments have been announced prior to the first meeting of the year.
Adrean was one of two new members who were given immediate council leadership roles. At-Large Post 2 council member Aaron Watson was appointed chairman of the Zoning Committee. Watson was elected to replace mayoral candidate Mary Norwood, an eight-year council veteran who never chaired a council committee during her tenure in office.
Watson succeeds Councilman Ivory Lee Young Jr. on the Zoning Committee, following Mitchell’s selection of Young to become chair the Public Safety Committee.
All but one of the council committees are receiving new leaders. Veteran Councilwoman Natalyn Mosby Archibong will head the Utilities Committee, Councilwoman Joyce Sheperd will take the reins of the Community Development/Human Resources Committee, and Councilman C.T. Martin becomes chairman of the Transportation Committee.
Councilwoman Felicia Moore will continue to head the Committee on Council. Moore also represents a small section of west Buckhead that falls in her Council District 9.
Mitchell defeated former Dist. 8 Councilwoman Clair Muller in a runoff last month to become the new council president.
Adrean also will serve as a member of the City Utilities Committee and Public Safety & Legal Administration Committee. Shook also will be serving on the City Utilities and Zoning committees.
In addition to chairing the Committee on Council, Moore will serve on the Finance/Administration Committee and the Transportation Committee.