We asked Westside resident Michael Hattaway, who works in reinsurance and is a resident at White Provision, to tell us what he loves about living on the ever-growing Westside community.

Why I Love the Westside

Living on the Westside is great because there is no shortage of places to eat, drink, shop and socialize. You can fill your entire day, from breakfast through late-night, without driving. When you do have to drive, the location is incredibly convenient – Midtown, Buckhead, Virginia Highland and the interstate are all easily accessible. The Westside offers a sense of community with interesting and diverse neighbors unlike anywhere I have lived in Atlanta.

Where to Eat

Abattoir (starprovisions.com) has a great menu that offers the best burger and fries in Atlanta, an unbelievable risotto, and excellent craft cocktails all with top notch service. Star Provisions (starprovisions.com) is a great lunch spot with a delicious array of sandwiches, blue plates, pizza, and the best pickles you will find anywhere. Miller Union (millerunion.com) is refined farm to table at its best.  Don’t miss the fried chicken at Saturday lunch. JCT. Kitchen & Bar (jctkitchen.com) on Thursday night for $1 bar bites and drink specials with live music and a killer view of the Midtown skyline.

Where to Shop

Perrine’s Wine Shop (perrineswine.com) should be your go to source for wine in Atlanta regardless of the neighborhood you call home. The best selection of wine, cheese, and anything else wine-related in Atlanta. Sid Mashburn (sidmashburn.com) and Ann Mashburn (annmashburn.com) have great clothes/accessories shopping for guys (Sid) and ladies (Ann) in a laid back but high-end setting. Switch Modern (switchmodern.com) has ll of the cool accessories you need for your home (and yourself) that you never knew you needed.

Coming Up

Billy Reid (billyreid.com) is opening his first Atlanta store here in the spring. JCT. Kitchen’s Attack of the Killer Tomatoes Festival is coming up July 22 and is not to be missed. The Westside Art Walk (wadatlanta.org) in the third Saturday of every month and live music at Northside Tavern (northsidetavern.com) any night of the week.

Collin Kelley

Collin Kelley has been the editor of Atlanta Intown for two decades and has been a journalist and freelance writer for 35 years. He’s also an award-winning poet and novelist.