By Dan Whisenhunt and Melissa Weinman

J. Max Davis celebrates his win in the Dec. 4 runoff election. Davis will become Brookhaven’s first mayor.

J. Max Davis has won the Dec. 4 runoff election to become Brookhaven’s first mayor. Rebecca Chase Williams has also won the District 1 City Council seat, and will be joined by Bates Mattison in District 3 and Joe Gebbia in District 4.

The new city is only weeks away from opening its doors, but most of its elected offices weren’t filled in the Nov. 6 general election. Only one candidate won outright on Nov. 6: Jim Eyre who will represent District 2.

Davis said he was ready to get to work.

“I worked very, very hard and we had a big victory tonight,” the mayor-elect said. “I know the responsibilities I have and I’m excited to dive into them. We’ve got a great group of council elects.”

The city’s new council members were also thankful for their victories.

“I’m so excited to be part of this first city council,” said Williams, District 1. “It’s historic. It’s exciting, and this is going to be a great city.”

“I ran against a great group of candidates,” said Mattison, District 3. “We have a chance to do great things in this city. We’re unique.”

“I am humbled and deeply, deeply proud to have this position,” said Gebbia, District 4. “I couldn’t be happier. I’d like to ask for unity and solidarity to create a single city of Brookhaven bringing us together.”

Here are the final results from the Dec. 4 runoff. Brookhaven’s first day as a city begins Dec. 17.

Mayor                           12 of 12 precincts                        Total votes

J. Max Davis                   65.56   percent                  4,177

Sandy Murray                  34.44  percent                         2,194

District 1                                       4 of 4 precincts                                 Total votes

Kevin Fitzpatrick                            34.12          percent                         1,021

Rebecca Chase Williams      65.88         percent                      1,971

District 3                         5 of 5 precincts                        Total votes

Bates Mattison          52.57   percent                       817

Kevin Quirk                     47.43    percent                          737

District 4                       4 of 4 precincts                              Total votes

Joe Gebbia                   81.17  percent                              431

Karen Lord                      18.83 percent                                  100

Dan Whisenhunt wrote for Reporter Newspapers from 2011 - 2014. He is the founder and editor of