In Sandy Springs, the field of candidates for City Council continues to grow.

On Aug. 29, City Councilman Tibby DeJulio filed to run for reelection in the Fifth District and there now are two candidates in the Third District and five in the Sixth, the city reported.

City officials said Jennifer Steele had qualified Aug. 29 to run for the seat representing District 6 on Sandy Springs City Council held by Karen Meinzen McEnerny, who is not seeking reelection. Steele joins candidates Andy Bauman, Patty Berkovitz, John Stoj and Sonja Tonpea in the District 6 race.

In District 3, Barbara Malone qualified to run for the council seat being vacated by Councilman Chip Colllins, who is not seeking reelection. She faces Graham MacDonald in the Nov. 5 election.

As of the end of filing Aug. 29, DeJulio had no opposition. Neither did incumbents John Paulson in District 1 and Dianne Fries in District 2.

Qualifying closes at 4 p.m. Aug. 30. Candidates file with the City Clerk at Sandy Springs City Hall, 7840 Roswell Road.

Here’s the list of candidates published by the city as of the close of qualifying on Aug. 29:

For Mayor: Rusty Paul and Bob Brown

District 1: John Paulson

District 2: Dianne Fries

District 3: Graham McDonald, Barbara Malone

District 4: Gabriel Sterling and Tochie Blad

District 5: Tibby DeJulio

District 6: Andy Bauman, Patty Berkovitz, Jennifer Steele, John Stoj, Sonja Tonpea

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.