Dunwoody voters head to the polls May 20 to choose a new sheriff and to nominate candidates in Republican and Democratic primaries.

If you aren’t sure which district you vote in, go to www.mvp.sos.ga.gov/LoginPage.aspx. That website also will tell you where you vote and can provide you with a printable sample ballot.

Former Sheriff Tom Brown’s resignation earlier this year so he could run for a seat in the U.S. Congress opened up the nonpartisan race for his successor. Eight candidates are running in the special election to choose a new sheriff. They are: Dale Bernard Collins, Ted Golden, R. Tony Hughes, Vernon Jones, Melody Maddox, incumbent Jeff Mann, Melvin Mitchell and LaSalle Smith Sr.

Republican officeholders representing Dunwoody in the state Legislature also drew opposition in the May 20 primary.

Sen. Fran Millar, who represents District 40, faces a challenge in the Republican Primary from Richard D. “Dick” Anderson. Two Democrats, Tamara Y. Johnson and Benedict I. Truman II, square off May 20 for the nomination of their party. Winners of the primary elections will meet in the fall.

Rep. Thomas K. “Tom” Taylor faces a primary challenge from James Bradley “Brad” Goodchild.

In the race for the District 1 seat on the DeKalb school board, Stan Jester is unopposed.

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.