Georgia voters go to the polls May 24 to vote in primaries to choose party nominees for local elections in the fall and to cast ballots in some special elections, including special local option sales tax votes for local school systems in Atlanta and DeKalb and Fulton counties. Voters in District 3 in Sandy Springs will choose a new member of Sandy Springs City Council in a non-partisan special election.


District 40

State Sen. Fran Millar of Dunwoody, who represents Dunwoody and other portions of DeKalb County and portions  of Sandy Springs, faces a challenge from DeKalb County financial advisor Paul Maner in the Republican Primary contest for the District 40 Senate seat. The primary winner will face Democrat Tamara Johnson-Shealey in the fall election.

Paul Maner

Fran Millar (I)


District 52

Former Sandy Springs City Councilman Graham McDonald and Buckhead lawyer Deborah Silcox meet in the Republican Primary for the nomination to succeed veteran former Rep. Joe Wilkinson, who decided not to seek re-election. No Democrat has filed for the District 52 seat, so the winner of the Republican Primary will be able to claim the seat.

Graham McDonald

Deborah Silcox

District 79

In the race for the Republican nomination for the House of Representatives seat representing District 79, incumbent Rep. Tom Taylor takes on challenger Tom Owens.The winner will be able to claim the seat, because no Democrat filed to run for the position.

Tom Owens

Tom Taylor (I)

 District 80

Three Republicans meet  in the May 24 primary election to choose the party’s nomine for the District 80 seat in the state House of Representatives. The Republican nominee will face Democrat incumbent Rep. Taylor Bennett (D-Brookhaven) in November. Bennett has no opposition in the primary.

Catherine Bernard

Alan Cole

Meagan Hanson

Sandy Springs City Council

Five candidates are running in a May 24 special election for a seat on Sandy Springs City Council. The council post was vacated by former Councilman Graham McDonald, who resigned to run for a seat in the state House of Representatives.

Chris Burnett

Brian Eufinger

Joe Houseman

Suzi Voyles

Larry Young


Voters in Atlanta and Fulton and DeKalb counties also decide whether to extend local-option sales taxes for education for another five years. For more, go here

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.