Felicia Moore and Andre Dickens

The runoff ballot is going to be more full than usual as 10 races head for another showdown on Nov. 30.

Early and absentee voting dates will be announced after Nov. 8, which is the date the election will be certified.

Be sure to check our election night post here to see the other winners and losers (or scroll to the bottom of this post), and you can also check all the results at the Fulton and DeKalb election sites.

Please note that vote counts posted here are not final until certified by the Fulton and DeKalb board of elections.

Atlanta Mayor

The biggest surprise of the night was surely the race for Atlanta mayor, which saw Andre Dickens best frontrunner Kasim Reed by 600 votes to enter a runoff with top vote-getter Felicia Moore. Dickens got his lead thanks to a clutch of late votes counted in DeKalb.

Moore: 39,202
Dickens: 22,153
Reed: 21,541

Out of the other 11 candidates, no one cracked double-digit percentage leads. Sharon Gay (6,578) and Antonio Brown (4,544) were the distant third and fourth runners-up.

Atlanta City Council President

Doug Shipman (27,562) gained his lead early in the evening, but it was clear he would face Natalyn Archibong or Courtney English in a runoff. English (22,400) surged ahead, but Archibong (24,923) bested him in the early morning hours.

Atlanta City Council Post 3 At-Large

Keisha Sean Waites (23,696) and Jacki Labat (19,849) fended off three other contenders to advance to the runoff.

Atlanta City Council District 1

Jason Winston (1,960) will face Nathan Clubb (1,835).

Atlanta City Council District 3

Byron Amos (1,093) and Erika Estrada (843) will have a rematch.

Atlanta City Council District 4

Incumbent Cleta Winslow (1,474) will square off against Jason Dozier (1,377).

Atlanta City Council District 5

Liliana Bakhtiari (5,314) appeared to have won the race outright, but by morning, Mandy Mahoney (1,894 had captured additional votes from DeKalb to put the two in a runoff.

Atlanta City Council District 12

Incumbent Joyce Sheperd (2,120) will meet Antonio Lewis (2,073) on Nov. 30.

Atlanta School Board District 2

Incumbent Aretta Baldon (3,468) will face Keisha Carey (2,129).

Atlanta School Board District 7 At-Large

Tamara Jones (30,112) will be matched against Kanesha Venning (15,271).


In the Atlanta City Council races, Alex Wan recaptured is District 6 seat he last held in 2017, while Mary Norwood (running unopposed) is back on the council representing District 8.

Atlanta City Council incumbents who have held on to their seats include Michael Julian Bond (Post 1 At- Large); Matt Westmoreland (Post 2 At-Large); Amir Farokhi (District 2, unopposed); Howard Shook (District 7, unopposed); Dustin Hillis (District 9); Andrea Boone (District 10); and Marci Collier Overstreet (District 11).

For the Atlanta School Board, newcomers who have won seats include Katie Howard (District 1) and Jennifer McDonald (District 4).

Incumbents who have held their seats includ Cynthia Briscoe Brown (District 8 At-Large); Jason Esteves (District 9 At-Large); Michelle Olympiadis (District 3); Erika Mitchell (District 5); and Eshé Collins (District 6).

Atlanta Municipal Court Judges

Eight Atlanta Municipal Court judges were were retained in the “yes” or “no” vote on the ballot.

Under the law, if a majority votes to retain a judge, the judge remains on the bench for a four-year term. If a majority of those vote “no,” the sitting judge will finish their term and a new judge appointed by the mayor.

The judges retained are JaDawnya Baker, Ardra Bey, Crystal Gaines, Calvin Graves, Terrinee Gundy, Gary Jackson, Christopher Portis, and Christopher Ward.


The TSPLOST (Transportation Special Local Option Sales Tax) involved fewer precincts, as Atlanta has its own tax. With the 220 precincts reporting, 49,823 voters in the 13 Fulton County cities voted to extend the tax, while 31,971 voters voted against it. Purchases of goods and services in Fulton County will include a 0.75 percent sales tax to fund TSPLOST projects.

The ESPLOST (Education Special Local Option Sales Tax) was approved 104,367 to 44,292. Approval means purchases will continue to include a 1 percent (“one penny”) sales tax to fund projects for both the Fulton County Schools and Atlanta Public Schools districts.

Collin Kelley

Collin Kelley has been the editor of Atlanta Intown for two decades and has been a journalist and freelance writer for 35 years. He’s also an award-winning poet and novelist.