Visit on Dec. 4 for live election results for the Brookhaven City Council races.

Brookhaven voters will pick their new mayor and three of the four city council members in the Dec. 4 runoff elections.

The vote comes after months of public debate over whether Brookhaven should be a city, months of campaigning for offices in the new city, and an election on Nov. 6 that winnowed the number of candidates dramatically.

Eight candidates are on the runoff ballot. They are: J. Max Davis and Sandy Murray, who are running citywide for mayor; Kevin Fitzpatrick and Rebecca Chase Williams in the District 1 council race; Bates Mattison and Kevin Quirk in the District 3 council race; and Joe Gebbia and Karen Lord in the District 4 council race.

To find out where you vote, visit for the Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter Page. You will be able to obtain a sample ballot and get an exact polling location.

People without Internet access can call the DeKalb County Board of Registration and Elections at 404-298-4020.

The polls are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Any voter waiting in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Voters should present one of the following forms of photo identification: a Georgia driver’s license, a voter ID card, a U.S. passport, an employee ID card for federal employees, a military ID, a tribal ID.

Avatar photo

Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.