The Dec. 17 Sandy Springs City Council meeting will mark the end of an era for the first of Georgia’s new cities.

Mayor Eva Galambos, who served two terms as the city’s first mayor, will preside over her last City Council meeting. The event will also mark the departure of three other City Council members: Chip Collins, Dianne Fries and Karen Meinzen McEnerny

McEnerny and Collins decided not to seek reelection. Fries was defeated by challenger Ken Dishman in the Nov. 5 municipal election for Sandy Springs City Council district 2.

According to a press release from the city, “A special presentation is planned for the outgoing city representatives at the Dec. 17, 2013 City Council meeting.  The meeting will begin at 6 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers located at 7840 Roswell Road, Building 500, Sandy Springs, GA 30350.”

Dan Whisenhunt wrote for Reporter Newspapers from 2011-2014. He is the founder and editor of