DeKalb County’s sheriff and a former county CEO meet in a runoff election July 22 to determine who will serve as the county’s next sheriff.

Sheriff Jeff Mann, who took office earlier this year after the resignation of former sheriff Tom Brown, and former DeKalb CEO Vernon Jones, collected the largest number of votes in the eight-candidate field in the May 20 nonpartisan election for the office.

Mann received about 40 percent of the votes cast, with 28,886. Jones received about 22 percent, with 16,124. In Georgia, a candidate must receive more than half the votes cast in an election to win, so the two will run head-to-head July 22 to determine the winner.

Six other candidates split smaller fractions of the May 20 vote: Dale Collins, 4 percent; Ted Golden, 4 percent; Tony Hughes, 6 percent; Melody Maddux, 7 percent; Melvin Mitchell, 14 percent; and LaSalle Smith Sr., 2 percent.

Also on July 22, DeKalb Republicans will cast their ballots for the party’s nominees for two state-wide

Jack Kingston and David Perdue seek the party’s nomination for the United States Senate.

Michael L. “Mike” Buck and Richard L. Woods are in a runoff for the Republican nomination for State School Superintendent. In the Democratic Primary, Alisha Thomas Morgan faces Valarie D. Wilson in a runoff for their party’s nomination for State School Superintendent.

Registered voters who did not vote in the Democratic Primary on May 20 may vote in the Republican runoff, according to the Secretary of State’s office. Registered voters who did not vote in the Republican Primary may vote in the Democratic runoff.

If you have questions about your eligibility to vote or where to vote, go to

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.