Fulton and DeKalb county voters went to the polls Nov. 8 to choose a variety of local, state and federal office holders. Here are unofficial results reported by  the Georgia Secretary of State’s office and Fulton County election officials as of 9 a.m. Nov. 9 in selected contested local races.

(i) = incumbent

Georgia Senatevotes%
District 6
Hunter Hill (i)40,390  52%
Jaha Howard37,865  48%
District 40
Tamara Johnson-Shealey32,548  44%
Fran Millar (i)41,704  56%
District 42
Elena Parent (i)61,974  77%
Kenneth Brett Quarterman18,658  23%
District 56
John Albers (i)46,214  60%
Patrick Thompson31,380  40%
Georgia House of Representatives
District 54
Beth Beskin (i)16,42661%
Bob Gibeling9,83039%
District 80
Taylor Bennett (i)11,847  49%
Meagan Hanson12,095  51%
District 81
Lane Flynn6,908  41%
Scott Holcomb (i)9,894  59%
U.S. House of Representatives
District 5
Douglas Bell44,952  15%
John Lewis (i)245,731  85%
District 6
Tom Price (i)194,460  62%
Rodney Stooksbury121,496  38%
 DeKalb CEO
 Jack Lovelace60,527 20%
 Michael Thurmond241,028 80%
Atlanta T-SPLOST

(total of Fulton plus DeKalb votes)

Yes129,390  69%
No58,852  31%
MARTA referendum

(total of Fulton plus DeKalb votes)

Fulton County T-SPLOST
Yes119,847  53%
No107,121  47%

Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.