The Brookhaven City Council approved the first 32 members of its Social Justice, Race and Equity Commission at its Oct. 27 meeting.

The city created the commission on Sept. 22 to start a citywide conversation about racial injustice and police brutality. The commission will review public engagement policies for inclusivity and the police department’s use of force policies and accountability.

The commission will meet for one year in public meetings.

Planning Commission Vice Chair John Funny was appointed chairman of the group.

Members will include representatives from the faith, education and business communities, all ages from teens to seniors, and Brookhaven Character Area geographic locations.

The commission will review the City’s Vision and Mission Statement and Charter, policies and procedures, public engagement and communication outreach, and the Brookhaven Police Department’s use of force policy, oversight and accountability.

Mayor John Ernst thanked the group of volunteers joining the new commission, but said the city still needs more members to fully represent the city.

“We still have spots open. We had an overwhelming number of applications. We do need 50,” he said.

More applicants from the Latino community are needed to balance representation, he said.

To apply, see the city website here.

The commission members appointed so far include:

David Alexander

Rene Alvarez

Shahrukh Arif

Charlene Bowden

Davis Burnett

Vena Cain

Karen Cariello

Loven Collins

Chris Corces-Zimmerman

Amy Corn

Jose Hardy

Josh Hearshen

Jeremiah Hinson

Monique Hudson

Danita Knight

Tywana Minor

James Moses

Catherine Murithi-Wohl

William Naglich

Kirk Nelson

Janis Niesse

Melissa Owen

Matthew Paetzhold

Marco Palma

Tiffany Russell

William Thomas

Conni Todd

Anibal Torres

Cathy Wells

Beth Wendl

Thomas Woodward

Avatar photo

Bob Pepalis

Bob Pepalis covers Sandy Springs for Rough Draft Atlanta and Reporter Newspapers.