Incumbents appear to have won most Nov. 3 races local to Sandy Springs, but a battle continued Nov. 6 for a state House seat for a razor-thin margin of votes. The results remain unofficial.

In House District 52, Republican incumbent Rep. Deborah Silcox was trailing Democratic challenger Shea Roberts by fewer than 350 votes — 16,808 to 16,460 — on the afternoon of Nov. 6. Roberts expressed confidence in a win with her 50.52% lead, while Silcox was not conceding.

“I have been advised to not concede at this time pending further information,” Silcox said in a Nov. 6 text message.

“Yesterday, my team and I carefully calculated what possible outstanding ballots were left and we do not believe [Silcox] can close the gap, but she has not conceded,” Roberts said in a Nov. 6 text message. Roberts said she likely would not “officially claim a win until certification or she concedes.”

District 52 includes parts of Buckhead and Sandy Springs. Silcox was one of the few Republican legislators who survived the 2018 election’s “blue wave” of Democrats winning local seats. In that 2018 race, Roberts also challenged Silcox.

In races for Congressional and other state legislative seats representing Sandy Springs, incumbents of both parties appear to have won.

U.S. Rep. Lucy McBath, a Democrat, will keep her 6th Congressional District seat after defeating Republican challenger Karen Handel with 54.57% of the vote, according to unofficial results as of Nov. 6. The race was a rematch of 2018, when McBath ousted Handel from the seat. The district also includes parts of Dunwoody, Brookhaven, Cobb County and north Fulton areas.

In state Senate District 6, representing parts of Buckhead and Sandy Springs, Democratic incumbent Jen Jordan pulled 61.52% of the vote to beat Republican challenger Harrison Lance.

In state Senate District 32, Republican incumbent Kay Kirkpatrick defeated Democratic challenger Christine Triebsch with 55.91% of the vote in a second rematch since she won the seat in 2017. The seat also represents parts of Cobb County.

In state Senate District 40, Democratic incumbent Sally Harrell defeated Republican challenger Garry Guan with 60.44% of the vote. The seat includes Dunwoody and parts of Brookhaven and Sandy Springs.

In state Senate District 56, Republican incumbent John Albers won a relatively close race against Democratic challenger Sarah Beeson, pulling 51.14% of the vote.

In state House District 51, Democratic incumbent Josh McLaurin drew 55.25% of the vote to defeat Republican challenger Alex Kaufman in another second-rematch race.

In state House District 80, which represents parts of Brookhaven and Sandy Springs, Democratic incumbent Matthew Wilson took 58.86% of the vote to defeat Republican challenger Alan Cole.

In the race for the District 2 seat on the Fulton County Board of Commissioners, representing northern Sandy Springs, Republican incumbent Bob Ellis fended off a challenge from Democrat Justin Holsomback with 53.7% of the vote.

John Ruch is an Atlanta-based journalist. Previously, he was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.

Bob Pepalis covers Sandy Springs for Rough Draft Atlanta and Reporter Newspapers.

Matt Bruce is a writer based in metro Atlanta.